Slightly-skewed2005-10-05 | 12:29 a.m.

Someone called my thoughts �slightly-skewed� in my guestbook and now I�m wondering whether that can be considered a compliment or not.

I even reread a few of my entries to find out whether I think that I agree with her or not. Still not sure yet, but at times I do sound like a total stressball� I mean really, nitpickingly describing each and every annoying detail of another person� ahem� well� it�s a wonder I�m not losing readers right now� ;-)

Anyway, Dave and I just came back from a trip to the Hannover Zoo and to Amsterdam.

We had a blast, although my back hurt most of the time and we both had our �I want to go be home right NOW� *sniff*� moment at the beginning of the trip.

A week away from everything. It was just what we need.

When you run your own business, things get a bit overwhelming and consuming from time to time. I�m glad that I seem to learn to just �switch� these thoughts off.

I think, during our time away, I was more concerned about our cleaning lady leaving the hot iron on than about my practice. I consider this a big improvement although I�m not so sure that Dave would agree� He didn�t even let me call our landlords to check.

(Of course, everything was fine when we returned. I told our landlady who had watered our plants during our absence how worried I was about the hot iron� �Oh, that was the first thing I checked when your cleaning lady had left�� *grins*)

The Hannover Zoo was as awesome as their website suggested. The new parts of the zoo are lovingly created, well designed and thought out and a pleasure to walk through. The experience must be awesome for kids, �cause you can discover so many things �just around the bend�.

As far as I�m concerned, there could be more kinds of animals (only one kind of snake in the whole zoo??) and the older areas of the zoo had that rather ugly seventies� charm, but we spend a great time there.

The thing I liked best about it: There weren't many bars. Most animals were shown in a reproduction of their natural habitat and there was only a water ditch and a small wall dividing the visitors from the enclosure.

The tigers and some of the other wildcats were given lots of space and you could watch them through thick panes. A little girl was sitting in a window sill next to the tiger enclosure and "suddenly" a tiger came running towards the window... Although she (and I) knew that nothing could happen to us whatsoever, she slid from the sill and I hid behind Dave...

We also saw cangaroos, penguins and many more "wild creatures", but I think penguins are still the cutest of them all...

[To be continued�]


|


Last Five Entries:

2011-08-25 - Upcoming Trade Show
2011-08-23 - Back and better
2010-01-17 - Ready for Take-Off
2010-01-16 - Here We Go Again
2009-04-07 - Giving your all