Who are you? Who, who? Who, who?2005-07-18 | 9:28 a.m.

Another fortnight without a word! Ha! There�s no easier to decimate one�s readership�

Anyway, it�s Monday, I should be working on a mega-important case, but I don�t want to. I didn�t want to last week either, so I kind of have to want to today.

Oh, these horrible, horrible pressures of having to get yourself motivated without outside pressure other than the happiness of a client�

The weekend:

Saturday started bright and early, I was up by 6.30 a.m. getting ready to wait for the postman. Waiting for the new Harry Potter book has become quite a ritual here at Chez Charis. This time, I even got some laundry ironed�

Hours later, I saw the mail truck on the street below my windows. Did it stop at my house?? NO! Instead he made a turn into the street right across and wasn�t seen for another couple of hours. *sighs*

Finally, I heard it stop in front of my house and ran to our entrance door and pushed the door-opener just as the mailman was ringing our bell�

Well, now that I�ve read the book, the waiting for the seventh and final book can start right away. I wonder when Amazon will open the sign-up for it. Mmmh�

I don�t want to spoil anything, but let me say this: I�m worried, very worried now� Will Harry manage to destroy Lord Voldemort in the end? Mmh�

Anyway, Saturday was a happy day. In the evening, we went to Dave�s mother�s birthday garden party and had a ball.

We did most of the beer tabbing. Although I don�t even drink it, it was lots of fun to find a way to do the beer tabbing well. We were assisted by a cute 10-year-old boy (one of Dave�s cousins) that I would have kidnapped on the spot had Dave not stopped me�

We kept him and us amused by introducing him to the silly games we usually play when we�re alone and kind of bored.

Try this one for example on a dull afternoon: I say �7�, you say �14�, I say �21� and so on� me and the little guy got all the way up to 692 when we realized that at least one of us must have done something wrong a while ago� *grins*

Dave and I also got a lot of cuddling time in at the party�. Envious looks from everywhere� oh, to be young again� ;-))

Unfortunately, we were not able to continue these happy times on Sunday. The day started badly when I, deep in my HP book, had to sneeze and blow my nose several times and woke Dave up. Okay, so I was reading in the bed next to him, but I hate it when he gets that foul mood and nothing you say or do makes it any better�

I felt a bit sick of his pattern (although I am quite the same way) and also very introverted, so I spent most of yesterday immersed in the book and my gloomy mood.

I finished the �Half-Blood Prince� that evening and to cheer us up a little bit, we decided to go out with two of Dave�s friends. I�m calling them �Dave�s friends� right now because their behaviour turned out to be abominable:

They are about five years younger than me, which puts them in Dave�s age range. Unfortunately, they are not wise beyond their years like Dave (HA!) but rather childish.

One of them is still a virgin. He�s always seeking women that are WAY out of his league and wondering why he never �gets� one of them. Geez Louise. He�s also the squarest person I know, so I don�t really know why he wants women with a �freak factor�. It�s obvious he�d bore such women to death.

Whenever a woman does show interest in him, he finds some fault in them and nothing ever comes out of it. Don�t get me wrong, he�s quite good-looking, but somehow� anyway�

Due to this no-girlfriend situation, the other �lovely� guy, also the best buddy of the afore-mentioned, has repeatedly called him �Weichei� (wimp) which is really insulting especially since he�s doing it in front of us and everybody else.

I�ve already said something to that lovely chap which resulted in an apology. Yesterday, he said it again and I � always on the moral high horse � intervened and told him that this was no way to treat a friend and that I was sick of their constant fighting.

Well, that really heightened the general mood� not�

Unfortunately, the other guy, the one that I �protected�, isn�t much better than the rude one:

I had ordered some fries and the waitress arrived with a biiiig plate of them. I said something along the lines of �oh, I�m not gonna be able to eat all these fries, you guys can have some, too!�

I should have known better: The virgin guy ended up eating about a third of my portion!! When only a few fries were left, he kept digging in and ate all of the remaining long fries leaving me the crumbs� well thanks�

I don�t want to be narrow-minded, but gosh, WHERE are your manners? Don�t you get it that there are things that you just don�t do?

After all fries were gone, I was still hungry and I said so. Then he apologised about five times, but please, spare me�

He�s always that careless. Once he came by when Dave and I just had had a hamburger dinner. He kept asking whether anything was left, wasn�t kept off when I told him we were out of hamburger buns and finally fried himself what I wanted to be my lunch the next day. I couldn�t refuse for some politeness problem I have, but I was FUMING inside�

Now, I�m always keeping the kitchen door firmly closed when the locusts are coming over.

After our outing yesterday, the virgin guy came over to our place, but didn�t stay long. On his way out, he stepped right on my sweater which was lying on the floor (I know!) without even noticing.

Ah, to be back in the days when I was living by myself, being desperate and constantly craving for a boyfriend that loved me deeply.

Back then, I could just throw people I didn�t get along with out of my life. I never had to see them again, I didn�t have to deal with their behaviour, I didn�t have to attend parties with them and I had myself a nice, compatible circle of friends that I still miss dearly�

I think I�ve said it before, but Dave�s friends are often rubbing me the wrong way, but I can�t exclude myself all the time. Somehow, I�ve got to live with them�

At least, I�m really getting along well with Dave�s mom these days, so here�s to hoping that one day, I�ll get along better with his friends, too�

Love,


PS:
You scored as Albus Dumbledore. Strong and powerful you admirably defend your world and your charges against those who would seek to harm them. However sometimes you can fail to do what you must because you care too much to cause suffering.

Sirius Black

70%

Remus Lupin

70%

Albus Dumbledore

70%

Hermione Granger

65%

Ron Weasley

65%

Harry Potter

60%

Severus Snape

60%

Ginny Weasley

60%

Draco Malfoy

40%

Lord Voldemort

15%

Your Harry Potter Alter Ego Is...?
created with QuizFarm.com


|


Last Five Entries:

2011-08-25 - Upcoming Trade Show
2011-08-23 - Back and better
2010-01-17 - Ready for Take-Off
2010-01-16 - Here We Go Again
2009-04-07 - Giving your all